The University of Macau (UM) and the Institute of Oceanography, Chinese Academy of Sciences signed a strategic cooperation framework agreement earlier and will officially launch the joint doctoral programme in 2022/2023 academic year. It will implement a dual-tutor system. The study period of the programme is 4 years. Students will study courses at UM in the first year, and will mainly conduct scientific research in the Institute of Oceanography for the next three years. During the study period, students will be jointly guided by the professors from both parties and required to fulfill the requirements in the study plan. Students who meet the requirements for graduation will receive a PhD degree from the University of Macau.

The University of Macau (UM) is an international public comprehensive university in Macao, with a multicultural campus and a system of whole-person education underpinned by faculties and residential colleges in an international education setup. 80 per cent of its faculty members are from outside Macao. With English as the main medium of instruction, the university is committed to producing creative and socially responsible graduates with a global mindset and international competitiveness. UM is ranked in the 201-250 bracket in the Times Higher Education (THE) World University Rankings. The subjects Engineering and Computer Science are ranked 101 and 151. In addition, UM is among the top 1% in Essential Sciences Indicators (ESI) rankings in ten subjects, namely Engineering, Computer Science, Chemistry, Materials Science, Pharmacology & Toxicology, Clinical Medicine, Psychiatry/Psychology, Biology & Biochemistry, Social Sciences, General, and Agricultural Sciences.

The Institute of Oceanology, Chinese Academy of Sciences (IOCAS), which is located in Qingdao, was founded in 1950. It is the first ocean research institute in China. Since its founding, the institute has established long-term relationships with scientific research institutes from more than 40 countries or regions. There are 53 scientists from IOCAS representing China holding various positions in many major international scientific organizations. IOCAS is the only unit granting marine science A-class doctorates among China’s marine research institutes. It has enrolled graduate students since 1956. Since 1979, IOCAS has enrolled more than 1,600 students, ranking first among national marine research institutions. The institute has 12 units granting doctorates, 10 units granting master’s degrees, and three units granting professional engineering master’s degrees. The website of IOCAS:


  • Master’s degree in physical oceanography or related majors
  • Having solid theoretical foundation, strong logical thinking ability, good scientific research literacy and scientific research potential (papers published in journals are preferred)
  •  Or Selected excellent fresh UG graduate
  • Or Fresh graduate or graduate recommended by the Institute of Oceanography, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Tuition fees

Proof of English Proficiency (Details

  • Applicants who received their Bachelor’s/Master’s degree from a university where the medium of instruction was not English are required to provide any of the following as proof of English proficiency:
  • Obtained a TOEFL* score of 550 (paper-based examination) / 80 (Internet-based examination) or above or,
  • An IELTS* overall score of 6.0 or above with no sub-score lower than 5.5 or,
  • College English Test (CET) score is acceptable to some academic units, please visit corresponding website of each academic unit for details.

*Note: TOEFL and IELTS scores are valid for two years from the test date.

List of Professors

Registration (Deadline : 29 July 2022)